The Toyota Gazoo Racing GT Cup Aims to Discover the Fastest GR “Driver”

6 April 2021

Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) has announced details of the Toyota Gazoo Racing GT Cup (TGR GT Cup) 2021, a new series in Gran Turismo SPORT for PlayStation®41 (PS4®).

The TGR GT Cup is a global series in which the Toyota GR line-up, including road vehicles and dedicated racing cars, will compete in an eight-round season. In addition to the GR Supra and GR Yaris, the recently announced GR 86 is scheduled for introduction to the series in the middle of the year. Players can change the cars they use for their virtual racing for each round if they wish – something that is hard to achieve in real-life motorsports.

Partly because of the effects of COVID-19, 2020 was a year in which people paid more attention to e-Motorsports than ever before, as exemplified by the hosting of the Virtual 24 Hours of Le Mans. Many players from all over the world also took part in the GR Supra GT Cup and the GR Yaris Time Trial, hosted by TGR. After being featured in Gran Turismo SPORT, approximately 1.30 million GR Supra and 530,000 GR Yaris vehicles were purchased, indicating the great player-appeal of GR models.

TGR plans to continue its active engagement in e-Motorsports so that motorsports and sports cars will become more familiar around the world and be enjoyed by many generations to come.

Outline of TGR GT Cup 2021

Race name Toyota Gazoo Racing GT Cup 2021
Event period April – December, 2021
Event location Qualifying: online, across the world (seven rounds)
Final: online final to be held in conjunction with the FIA GT Championship in December (planned)
Participation requirement Owner of “Gran Turismo SPORT” for PS4® or PS5™ with software within Gran Turismo. Participants must be six years old or older2

 Schedule

Dates and courses may be subject to change.

 

Round Date Car Course
Qualifying Rd.1 25 April GR Supra ’20 Weather Tech Raceway Laguna Seca (USA)
Rd.2 23 May GR Yaris Fuji International Speedway (Japan)
Rd.3 30 May SF19 Suzuka Circuit(Japan)
Rd.4 6 June 2000GT The Nürburgring (Germany)
Rd.5 4 July GR Supra RC Autódromo José Carlos Pace (Brazil)
Rd.6 18 July GR Yaris Sardinia (Italy)
Rd.7 22 August GR 86 Mount Panorama (Australia)
Final Final Rd. December TBA TBA

 Start Time (differs according to the five regions below)

Region Start Time
Asia 12:00, 13:30 (UTC) / 21:00, 22:30 (JST)
Oceania 09:00, 10:30 (UTC) / 19:00, 20:30 (AEST) / 18:00, 19:30 (JST)
Europe, Middle east, Africa 17:00, 18:30 (UTC) / 19:00, 20:30 (CEST) / Next day 2:00, 3:30 (JST)
North America 25:00, 26:30 (UTC) / 18:00, 19:30 (PDT) / 21:00, 22:30 (EDT) / Next day 10:00, 11:30 (JST)
Latin America 23:00, 24:30 (UTC) / 16:00, 17:30 (PDT) / 19:00, 20:30 (EDT) / Next day 08:00, 09:30 (JST)

*Rd.4 will start 30 minutes before the above times. Start time is subject to change.

Outline of the TGR GT Cup Final

Date December(planned)
Location To be held online in conjunction with the FIA GT Championship (planned)
Race overview The race will be carried out inviting the top 24 drivers from among those achieving the highest four scores in Rounds 1 – 7 of online races, from the five regions specified by the FIA GT Championship as well as the TGR allotment (regional finalists)3.
Driver details Region Number of selected drivers (planned)
Europe, Middle East and Africa 9
North America 3
South and Central America 3
Asia 4
Oceania 1
TGR allotment3 4
Total 24

*1 “PlayStation”, “PS5”, and “PS4” are registered trademarks of Sony Interactive Entertainment Inc.© 2019 Sony Interactive Entertainment Inc. Developed by Polyphony Digital Inc. “Gran Turismo” logos are registered trademarks or trademarks of Sony Interactive Entertainment Inc.

*2 Under the laws of the participating countries or regions, even if participants are in the top qualifying rounds online, they may not be able to participate in the final.*3  Drivers selected from TGR’s regional finals

Detailed information including the circuits to be used in each round will be published in due course on the TGR GT Cup section of the TGR official website, https://toyotagazooracing.com/e-motorsports/

Also, entries for each race will open 15 minutes before the start of each race at “sports mode” of the “Gran Turismo SPORT”.

ENDS

 

Download this release as a PDF below

The Toyota Gazoo Racing GT Cup Aims to Discover the Fastest GR “Driver”

Images

Images are copyright free for editorial purposes only

Media enquiries

Please click here to see the press contacts at Toyota (GB):

Show Press Contacts

For further information, please contact:

James Clark

01737 367919 / 07885 776664 or by e-mail at james.clark@tgb.toyota.co.uk

General media enquiries

David Rogers

01737 367224 / 07825 280608 or by email at david.rogers@tgb.toyota.co.uk

General, alternative fuels and mobility media enquiries

David Crouch

01737367505 / 07909 900 085 or by email at david.crouch@tgb.toyota.co.uk

General, fleet and motorsport media enquiries

Please understand that our press team only deal with enquiries from media representatives.

Toyota and Lexus Press Releases

To receive all Toyota and Lexus press information, please select the box below.


To update your profile type in your email address and press return. MailChimp will then send you an email confirming your details and you will then have the opportunity of amending your details.

* indicates required
All Toyota/Lexus News